LiAnnaGraduates usually dread that inevitable question asked by well-meaning family members and friends: “What are you doing with your life now?” As a Master’s degree graduate this spring, I’m actually looking forward to the question, because I have an answer. I’m the newest member of Care2’s campaign team.

In my first two weeks, I jumped right in with campaigns on issues like shark finning, Medicare doctor payment cuts, fighting global poverty and closing the digital divide in America. Working with the other members of the campaign team to communicate with Care2 members about issues that are important to me has been incredible.

Not only do I get to work on progressive issues I support, I also get to explore online communication practices, an area of personal fascination and the subject of my Master’s program. Care2’s members demonstrate every day how the Internet has the power to bring people together for common causes. As a native Oregonian, I was particularly excited to see a campaign to protect the Columbia River Gorge collect public testimony that will make a difference in the place I still consider home.

I am thrilled to be a part of the Care2 team and look forward to helping members make a difference in our world.