I’m here in Austin for this year’s NetRoots Nation conference (formerly Yearly Kos) with progressive pundits, bloggers and normal folks who are interested in changing politics. And, like a proper political blogger (read: geek), I’m going to be blogging during as much of the conference as possible. I arrived Wednesday from San Francisco, checked into my hotel, had a grilled cheese at a local pub, and took care of all of my advance planning. I even walked down to see the spectacular feeding hour of the Austin bats! At that point, I found out that my camera battery is almost dead, which is a major bummer, but hopefully I’ll at least get a few good photos of Pelosi, Lessig and Dean.

Two hours ahead and waking up at 7 is a bit painful, but that’s how my Thursday started. First task – coffee. Okay, that’s taken care of. Scarf down my bagel, and rush to my first session. My first observation is inevitably the ratio of male to female – it’s got to be about 10 to 1, at least in this session. More to come…

